Program Description
The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provide fully-funded scholarships for master’s degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.
CSLA Award Structure
CSLA grantees will receive financial and administrative support for the following:
• Pre-academic preparation via summer schools;
• Program-related travel to/from Host University;
• Tuition and mandatory university fees;
• Monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses;
• Accident and sickness insurance during the program;
• Funds for educational materials and professional development;
• Attendance at a regional Scholarship Programs conference;
• Reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities.
Scholarship Programs are committed to equal opportunity, and exercise that policy in relation to all selection processes. The CSLA program does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, or disability.
Interested applicants must meet the following criteria:
• Demonstrate maturity, intellectual curiosity, flexibility, and civil society leadership potential;
• Demonstrate a clear commitment to their home country or region in supporting open society development;
• Have an earned bachelor's degree as of May 15, 2019 with an excellent academic record;
• Demonstrate proficiency in the language of instruction (English, French or German) at a level required for admission by host universities;
• Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country;
• Be able to participate in an intensive pre-academic summer school in July or August 2020 and start their Master’s degree program in August or September 2020.


Civil Society Leadership Awards are available to citizens of the following countries:
• Afghanistan
• Azerbaijan
• Belarus
• Cambodia
• Democratic Republic of Congo
• Egypt
• Equatorial Guinea
• Eritrea
• Ethiopia
• Laos
• Libya
• Myanmar/Burma
• Republic of Congo
• South Sudan
• Sudan
• Syria
• Tajikistan
• Turkmenistan
• Uzbekistan


Eligibility—Field of Study
On the application you will be asked to indicate your general field of study as well as specific programs within that general field based on our Host University Guide. Applicants must select one general field of study only from those listed below. Awards are available for study in the following areas:
• Communications, Journalism & Media
• Culture, History & Society
• Development Studies
• Economics
• Education Management & Leadership
• Environment & Natural Resource Management
• Gender Studies
• Human Rights
• Law (including Human Rights law)
• Politics & International Studies
• Public Health Policy & Health Management
• Public Administration
• Public Policy
• Social Work
• Social PolicyMore Information & Application Forms

More information can be obtained from the grant announcement for Civil Society Leadership Program 2020-2021, available here: